Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg

uni magdeburg

The Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg was founded in 1993 and is one of the youngest universities in Germany. It was established as a merger of an existing University of Technology, of a Teachers' Training College, and of a Medical School. It is a publicly-funded, but independent institution that works in the interests of the secular society. Its main fields of expertise are engineering, science, and medicine, next to economics, management, arts and the social sciences. The Otto-von-Guericke University considers itself to be a bridge between Eastern and Western Europe; one of its main tasks is to establish closer cultural relationships based on high-quality international research and education. The Otto-von-Guericke University comprises of 9 faculties and almost 13,000 students and is becoming increasingly important for Magdeburg--the capital of the province of Saxony Anhalt—which is gradually developing into a vibrant centre of commerce, scholarship, and culture.

The Institute of Psychology is seated within the Faculty of Science and compromises of nine divisions. The main focus of five divisions (Experimental Psychology; Neuropsychology; Biological Psychology; Psychoinformatics; and Clinical Developmental Psychology) is on neuroscience. The main focus of the other four divisions (Social and Personality Psychology; Research Methods, Diagnostics and Evaluation; Work & Organizational (Human Factors-related) Psychology; and Environmental Psychology) is on environmental and applied psychology. Jointly, these nine divisions run a fully recognized Bachelor's and Master's program in psychology with about 360 majors and a substantial number of minors from other faculties.